About Us
Advisory Council

The Center was developed with the assistance of a National Advisory Council that represented tribal governments, educators, clinicians, the Indian Health Service, the Bureau of Indian Affairs, the Addiction Technology Transfer Centers, and the Centers for the Application of Prevention Technology as well as the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. The Advisory Council met quarterly and contributed strategic thinking, tactical planning, and implementation of the Center programs.

Name Organization Division Position
Jim Berner, MD Alaskan Tribal Health Consortium NA Director
Doug Bigelow, PhD One Sky Center Oregon Health & Science University NA Deputy Director Associate Professor
Sonciray Bonnell Northwest Portland Area Indian Health Board NA Health Resources Coordinator
Maria Burns CDC (Center for Disease Control) Native American Diabetes Program Sr. Program Management Officer
Frank Canizales, PhD Indian Health Service – Retired Division of Behavioral Health, Office of Clinical and Preventive
Management Analyst – Retired
Ray Daw NA NA Consultant
Mike Fisher Jack Brown Tx Center NA Director
Roy Gabriel, PhD RMC Research Corporation NA Research Associate, Project Evaluator
Steve Gallon Northwest Frontier ATTC NA Project Director
McClellan Hall National Indian Youth Leadership Program, Inc. NA Founder and President
Pamela Jumper Thurman Tri-Ethnic Center for Prevention Research NA Sr. Research Scientist
Cheryl Kennedy Grand Ronde Tribe Tribal Council Chair
Craig Love Westat NA Senior Study Director
Valerie Naquin Cook Inlet NA VP of Development
Scott Prinz Alaskan Tribal Health Consortium NA  
Dale Walker, MD One Sky Center Oregon Health & Science University NA Director, Professor
Rose (Clark) Weahkee, PhD Indian Health Service Behavioral Health